Suit by Jettie Woodruff – Reviewed by Dottie

suit

Suit

The Twin Duo Book 1

By Jettie Woodruff

Genres: Romance / Mystery & Suspense

Reviewed by Dottie

Synopsis

suit teaser 2When my sister, Isabella showed up, just ahead of a tropical storm, nostalgia and a need to reconnect took us on a ride…directly into the eye of a different kind of disaster. I woke from a coma unaware that I even had a twin, and married to a man with two little girls. Although I fell madly in love with the children that I didn’t remember, I didn’t feel like I belonged with Paxton suit teaser 1Pierce. I couldn’t be who he wanted me to be no matter how hard I tried. But things aren’t always as they seem. I fought my own demons, trying not to be the submissive he required me to be, yet I craved it like a drug. I wanted him. Once upon a time I was an identical twin. And then I wasn’t.

goodreads

Review

Dottie’s Star Rating: 4.5 Stars

Review by Dottie

Wow! This is one of those books that plays with your head, big time! And then the ending…everything I thought I knew was happening was suddenly just pulled out from under me in the final chapter! And other than the fact that I have to wait until sometime in October (luckily, just next month) to see where this crazy, cliffhanger of an ending will take me next, it was an amazing trip through some crazy, crazy pages!!!
This book follows a woman named Gabriella, a woman who is married to a very controlling man named Paxton. They’ve got two young daughters and Paxton absolutely rules the roost. He tells Gabriella what to do, what to wear, what to buy at the store, and even checks the mileage on her car if she’s running an errand, knowing exactly how many miles it takes to run her errand and come back; she has parameters around her town and Paxton doesn’t allow for even one iota of independent thinking on her part or for her to go beyond her set boundaries. Clearly, for me, and knowing our blog’s followers, I think you’d agree this kind of guy goes so far beyond alpha-male that he’s squarely into ass-hole territory. It is impossible to even like this guy when this story begins. His saving grace – he’s an excellent father who adores his daughters and takes very good care of them. But that will only buy any man only so many Brownie points, you know?

When Gabriella’s super-secret (in that her husband does not know she exists) twin-sister shows up, completely out of the blue one day while she is out running to the store on a quick errand, Gabriella is overjoyed to see her! But is also terrified to defy her husband’s order, sending her out to just one store and telling her to return immediately afterward. She just wants a few minutes with the sister she has not seen in many years and decides for these few precious moments, defying him will be worth the punishment. But she has no way to predict that there will be a tragic accident while she’s with her sister, (Izzy) and when Gabriella wakes up in a coma in the hospital nine days later, she will have no recollection of her sister’s visit or of anything else. Gabriella woke up with amnesia and has no memory of her husband, kids, sister, or any other part of her life.

So I bet you’re thinking about now – “So what?! This situation has been used so many times in previous books, what could possibly happen in this one that I haven’t read before?” – aren’t you? But when I read the synopsis of this book, something about it intrigued me. And then I began hearing it was a book that could really mess with your head, that sounded even more intriguing. I decided to go for it. And after having just gotten off the “Suit” roller-coaster read, I can honestly say it was a very good decision!

When Gabriella wakes up, she is simply just not herself. She was practically a Stepford wife (along with the other neighborhood Stepford wives) when the story began. She would not cross Paxton, ever.

But once she awoke, besides being battered and bruised and broken and completely confused about her life, she is also a completely different person. She dresses differently; more sexy. She wears lipstick, which Paxton loves but normally she hates. She suddenly doesn’t like to eat meat. She will enjoy and occasional alcoholic beverage where she didn’t drink before. She becomes a fun mother, playing with her daughters (whom she doesn’t remember but quickly falls head-over-heels in love with). Paxton doesn’t begin to know how to deal with her. She no longer acquiesces to his orders and demands. But although he’s completely convinced she’s faking the entire thing to get out of trouble (for going beyond her boundary limits the day her twin showed up)…

“Pretending that you don’t know who you are won’t save you.” “What? Save me from what?” I questioned, eyebrows taking a sharp dive to the bridge of my nose. He did some sort of clicking thing with his tongue and sipped his coffee. His haunting eyes glared at me through steam, the smirk never leaving his face…”Keep it up. I’m actually enjoying the fuck out of this. Just thinking about starting over makes my dick hard,” he said with admittance to my lips with soft warm words. My lips stayed in a thin, straight line while he kissed me. A grunt fell from my chest when I jerked in pain, trying to move away. Something pulled me to him. Something besides cologne, and I knew without a doubt, he was my husband. Good Lord! I was broken and stupid. “Please tell me I’m not married to you,” I said, pleading eyes boring into his while I tried to use my broken hand to sit up…”Oh, yes. I own you, Gabriella Pierce,” he said while assuring me with some sort of creepy, power trip, tone….

And even though Gabriella desperately tries to convince the hospital staff not to send her home with this man, they determine the best place for her will be home in familiar surroundings with her family and release her to her “caring” husband.

There are, of course, some parts that are fairly predictable. She learns about what she did in her day to day life and what she was like pre-accident from both Paxton and the girls. Neighbors stop by and everybody seems surprised that their neighbor with amnesia doesn’t remember them. She does her best to make sense of this world, but the new her isn’t okay with being a subservient, meek, completely controlled woman at all. This Gabriella has a back-bone and she’s not afraid to display it loud and proud when pull comes to shove.

Plus there’s this almost animalistic desire that she begins to feel for Paxton; he’s very domineering in the bedroom and she begins to crave this. She finds herself desperately desiring him despite her dislike and distrust of him any other time…

…We were all over each other. My hands didn’t hang to my sides like they had before. They explored his back, his shoulders, and his chest. My head turned from side to side, begging him to touch me, kiss me, and discover my body the way I did his. Erotic. Pure passion stood between us. Something we didn’t have before. Wow. I understood now. I mean not really. I didn’t understand, but I did. I could see it…”I’ve always had to use some kind of lubrication with you. I can’t even touch you without your pussy getting wet now…

As the tight reign Paxton has over his household has begun to unravel with the new passion igniting between them, he doesn’t know what to think. He doesn’t know what to do. He doesn’t really understand how he feels about this new dynamic. Passion changes everything in his world and he can’t decide whether to celebrate it, or do whatever he needs to do to go back to the way of life where he is comfortable with the total control he exerts. Oh, what to do?!

This book is a book about amnesia, yes. But it’s also a book about a man who is a dominate whose submissive has changed the rules.  It’s a book about what can happen when the rules of your life all begin to change, and you can either follow the path that you are being led down or decide to take a u-turn and try to force everybody back into a mold that seems to have shattered. This book is a very interesting human-interest book with some serious twist.

And then, just as you feel like you see the direction this book is heading – you will see you were actually wrong. And all the little theories you’ve come up with in your mind – poof – just gone! And honestly, having a book be unpredictable and still kinda mind-blowing, well that is just all kinds of fun!

There are just a couple of typos in this book and one missing word (mostly toward the end of the book), but nothing you can’t figure out in context so although they’re there (and rare) it shouldn’t change your reading experience.

I can hardly wait for the second book in this series, “Slut” to release next month! I will be all over that the minute it is available! In the meantime, I can absolutely recommend you start with this one. It’s provocative and interesting and unpredictable. I enjoyed it very much!

Purchase Suit Here:

445d2-amazon2blink * f43f2-kobo


About Jettie Woodruff

JEttie

Jettie Woodruff resides in Ohio, but she’s not sure why. She hates winter and it’s right around the corner. Time to go south. People say Jettie has her own genre, a mixture of love, sex, family, mystery, and comedy. She also has a half a dozen stories started, all waiting to be told. The one that makes it to thirty-thousand first is usually the one that gets published next.

Some of her favorite things are, first and foremost her family, reading, writing, bike riding, hiking, BOOK SIGNINGS, my friends, and life!

“I’m selfish, impatient, and a little insecure. I make mistakes, I’m out of control, and at times hard to handle. But if you can’t handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don’t deserve me at my best.”
Marilyn Monroe

Leave a comment