Freed by Him by GL Chapple – Reviewed by Dottie

FBH

Freed by Him

Fighting Free Series Book 1

By GL Chapple

Genres: Romantic Suspense

Reviewed by Dottie

FBH1

Synopsis: 

He hurt me
He broke me
He almost destroyed me
Nobody was ever going to do that to me again. I learnt to fight back. I made myself tougher, harder, stronger. I didn’t want or need anyone.
Until Nate Masters.
Until he made me feel, want and need
Then my carefully constructed world began falling apart around me. Secrets shattering my faith in those closest to me and with the nightmare from my past pushing its way back into my present, I don’t know how much strength I have left to fight with….
Could I trust him? Give someone the power to hurt me again? He’s determined to break me free from behind my walls of self preservation
I’m just not sure I’m ready or willing to be Freed by Him….
***This book is suitable for readers 17yrs and over due to adult content***

| Goodreads |

Review

Dottie’s Star Rating: 3.5 Stars

Review by Dottie

G.L. Chapple is a new author and I think she’s got great potential. Throughout my reading of this book, I found myself entertained by most of it and curious about what would happen next.

Lena is a woman who takes no prisoners. She had an experience while new in college that shaped the way she interacts with men. She has built a wall around herself to protect her from the men of this world whom she finds threatening – simply because they ARE men! She has learned how to protect herself physically, she’s a strong woman. But allowing a man past her self-created wall has simply not been something she has been interested in. Until she meets Nate.

Nate is a cop. Nate is a gorgeous cop with whom Lena shares a moment and afterwards, neither of them can stop thinking about the other. They had an immediate attraction and some serious chemistry brewing between them. So when they run into each other a few days later, Nate isn’t about ready to allow a second-chance with this intriguing woman fall through his fingertips and approaches her with a smile…

Everything seemed to freeze for a second as our eyes met. My heart stopped before suddenly started again, but it seemed to be beating at double speed. I felt like I had a million butterflies in my stomach. My breath seemed to have frozen in my throat. I could hear Maddie [her best friend] calling my name, but I couldn’t tear my eyes away from his. His face broke out into a slow lazy grin, and he dipped his head in greeting…

This guy is definitely an alpha-male, yet when it comes to Lena, he understands innately he needs to be careful not to scare her away. She reminded me of a skittish colt at times and Nate recognized this and eased his way into her life with care.

I absolutely loved the connection between these two people. They are both intelligent, creative, sexy, and hard-working people and I really enjoyed them together. I wanted them to overcome Lena’s skittishness and find their way into each other’s lives. I particularly enjoyed the fact that these two actually talked. They got to know one another instead of popping right into bed that created just the right balance (not that these two don’t do the deed – they simply developed the beginnings of a relationship before exploring the physical aspect of their connection first). I found this to be quite sexy and appealing.

I also found this book to be a bit stressful. There is a dangerous aspect, as alluded to in the synopsis, that had me sitting on the edge of my seat as I read this book. I was sure I knew what was happening, in a sense, “who did it.” The lead-up to this revelation gathered steam as I read it, and just when I was sure about what was going to happen, I discovered I wasn’t necessarily right but…then there was this cliff-hanger at the end so now I don’t really know the answer to this mystery. Argh, cliff-hangers!!!

I found myself entertained and really enjoying this book but I feel like too much was left for the second book. I felt like I was left hanging more than a usual cliff-hanger would create and I finished the book feeling like I had just read a very long introduction to the “actual” book that must be the next (second of two) book in this series. I felt it had a pretty good build-up but after I finished the last page, I felt like I had essentially learned nothing as of yet and I found myself frustrated by this. This book introduced us to the characters and created the primary relationship, but then I hit a “To be Continued” page and I was frustrated.

This is not to say I didn’t enjoy this book. I did. I think the author did a very good job of beginning this story and am really wanting to know what will happen when it continues.

There was another character in the book I feel I must mention – that’s Nate’s Gramps! The relationship between Nate and Gramps was a pretty cool thing. This guy is a hoot…

“You upsetting the staff again, old man?” He glanced up at me, trying to keep his scowl from turning into a grin. “Bloody ridiculous rules and regulations in this place! They want to get into the 21st century!” He yelled the last sentence, glaring past me towards the door. I stepped directly into his line of sight and asked him what the problem was. The last time he’d been this agitated it had transpired that he’d decided to have a little poker game with drinks and smokes in his room, breaking a number of rules at the sheltered living accommodation relating to alcohol consumption, smoking and gambling. That had been a headache for me to sort out. They’d almost evicted him…He started to explain to me how he’d been discovered after lights out with a ‘lady friend’ in his bed who’d intended to stay the night, and I feigned a coughing fit trying to stifle the laughter that was bubbling up inside me. He saw straight through me. “You can laugh, boy! You’re young, good looking and free!..I might be old but I’m still a man!”

Gramps may be old and in an assisted living facility, but he’s completely there for Nate and has his back. I loved reading their part of this story very much!

This author is from the U.K. and this book is set there as well. It’s frankly a cool thing to have an author write about what they know! There have been a few times lately when a book is “set” somewhere here in the States and yet, the author (who does not live anywhere near where the story is based) has clearly been picking random places from a map to support their story without an understanding of the local area or culture of the region. That’s starting to make me a bit crazy! But in this book, that is not an issue. She’s writing about an area she knows and is comfortable writing about.

Why do I bring this up? Well, there are British terminology in this book and some of it is different, not only in names of items, but also in some of the spelling of words. Some or all of it might be common over on the other side of The Pond, but they are not common here. My advice – just go with the flow. She would use cos instead of ‘cause and I wasn’t sure if that was right but when I asked Google to define it, she’d used it correctly. I’m assuming this and other words might be local terms and just rolled with it.

In short, I liked this book but also felt the frustration about developing a story and then leaving most of the actual story to really develop in the second book. These two, Nate and Lena, did develop the beginning of their relationship in this book and with that, I found myself rooting for this pair. I am hopeful Nate can continue to really get in there, get behind her wall of protection and let these two become all they are supposed to become. In reading the synopsis for the sequel, Caught by Her, I must admit I’m worried about what will happen next in this regard. I’m sure that it will all work out eventually, but it looks like there will be a bit of an uphill battle in the future of Lena and Nate’s bond. And I look forward to learning how it all comes together!

Purchase Freed by Him Here:

| Amazon |


 

About GL Chapple

GL

GL Chapple is a girl that always loved to read and write and promised herself that, one day, she’d have a book bearing her name on her shelf. Living in South Wales with her husband and two young children, she’s a thirty something stay at home mother.
She spends a great deal of time at the beach, despite the welsh weather! And loves hot and sunny days…which Wales never gets enough of…
She will read almost anything and really only become enamored with romance at the end of 2014, however, since then, she hasn’t looked back.

Leave a Reply

