The Baller: A Down and Dirty Football Novel by Vi Keeland – Reviewed by Dottie

B

The Baller

A Down and Dirty Football Novel

By Vi Keeland

Genres: Contemporary Sports Romance

Reviewed by Dottie

Teasers

Synopsis

From New York Times & USA Today Bestseller, Vi Keeland, comes a sexy new standalone novel.

The first time I met Brody Easton was in the men’s locker room.
It was my first interview as a professional sportscaster.
The famed quarterback decided to bare all.
And by all, I don’t mean he told me any of his secrets.
No. The arrogant ass decided to drop his towel, just as I asked the first question. On camera.
The Super Bowl MVP quickly adopted a new hobby—screwing with me.
When I pushed back, he shifted from wanting to screw with me, to wanting to screw me.
But I don’t date players.
And it’s not because I’m one of the few women working in the world of professional football.
I’d date an athlete.
It’s the other kind of player I don’t date.
You know the type. Good looking, strong, cocky, always looking to get laid.

Brody Easton was the ultimate player.
Every woman wanted to be the one to change him.
But the truth was, all he needed was a girl worth changing for.
Turned out, I was that girl.
Simple right?
Let’s face it. It never is.
There’s a story between once upon a time and happily ever after…
And this one is ours.

Author’s note – The Baller is a full-length standalone novel. Due to strong language and sexual content, this book is not intended for readers under the age of 18.

| Goodreads |

Review

Dottie’s Star Rating: 4.5 Stars

Review by Dottie

I’d been hearing great things about this book; even hearing about the chatter before it was published. I had many other things on my plate and couldn’t get to it until a couple of days ago, but…it was worth the wait!

Brody Easton – yum! Really and truly a yummy character. This guy is gorgeous, of course. But he’s also really funny; I never knew what was going to come out of his mouth next and whatever it was, it was usually really witty! He’s loyal; he not only pays for the care of a woman who has always been there for him in her old age, but he goes over to the ritzy care-home she lives in and spoils her with gifts and more importantly, the gift of his time to make her feel special. He’s friendly with the staff, not only there (at the care-home), but also at the stadium where his professional football team practices and hosts home games. He knows the guard’s daughter recently broke her arm, knows her name, and asks about her when he sees the security-guard. He’s smart and got an engineering degree while he played college ball and he was last-year’s Super Bowl MVP! Just an all-round cool guy and completely book-boyfriend material (despite being a total playboy and not settling down with one woman until the right one comes along, but then, most of the best BBFs are)! During an interview with our heroine (who just happens to be a completely competent sports reporter), she asks…

“Last question.” “Shoot.” “Available or taken?” I explained the question, trying not to be personally invested in his answer. “Every woman will want to know the answer.” He looked at me in the eyes when he answered, “Neither.”

Now, our heroine, Delilah, the sports reporter, is pretty cool too. She’s the daughter of a former, famous pro-football quarterback herself so she knows the drill. She’s grown up watching her dad play the sport and has been in the stadiums and “backstage” all her life. She knows football stats like she’s got them tattooed on the back of her eyelids. She was recently hired as the staff football sports reporter over the thirty men who applied; she was more qualified – not a popular decision (even with her immediate boss). They all blamed the decision on her having a magical vagina, but she knows better and blows them all off. She’s spunky and knows her own mind. She’s beautiful but she’s not full of herself. She just wants to do her job and do it well.

The moment Brody lays eyes on Delilah in the locker room, he feels an instant attraction to her. But imagine his surprise; the popular, gorgeous quarterback whom no woman ever turns down, meeting his match in our Delilah…

“Congratulations on the win today, Brody. How is you knee feeling after your first game back?” I lifted my microphone high, knowing Nick was filming in close. “I feel. . .” He nonchalantly reached to the towel wrapped around his waist and tugged at the corner. The towel fell to the ground. “Great. I feel great. And how about you? It’s your first trip into the locker room, isn’t it? Do you like what you see so far?” His lips curled up into a full-blown wicked smile…”Umm. . .the locker room is. . .ummm. . .nice.” I sounded like a total ditz. On air. The jackass continued interviewing me. “Is it as big as you thought it would be? “Ummm. . .it’s much bigger than I imagined.” His smile grew wider…

And let the antics between these two begin! But where a lot of books would possibly carry this to extremes before the characters might get together – these antics were creative. He danced right up to the line of pushing the limit but never completely crossed that line (with the possible exception of locker room towels)! He made me laugh out loud several times as I was reading this book. When he finally convinced Delilah to go out to dinner with him, ostensively for a “business meeting,” he can’t help but be his usual charming, albeit, cocky self…

The waitress returned before I could respond. “Would you like dessert?” Brody pointed to the menu. “Bring us one of everything, please.” She justifiably looked confused. “You want one of every dessert?” He looked at me. “That’s right. She needs more courtship. Bring us one of everything.” I couldn’t help but laugh. “See,” he said when Siselee [the waitress] had gone. “I’m entertaining, too. I’m making you laugh. And you think I’m hot. This is a great courtship. I don’t know what you’re talking about.” “Excuse me? I never said I thought you were hot.” “You don’t have to. I feel it. It’s in the air when we’re near each other. You’re as attracted to me as I am to you.”….

I’m not sure how to really explain to you how charming he is in such a “Brody” way. Sure, he’s cocky. But when push comes to shove and things get serious, he’s all over that too. He can be sweet and considerate and perceptive.

Once these two did get together, my amusement continued; this couple didn’t get boring. Once, when she returned from covering an away-game for another team, she found him waiting for her in her apartment (this was not a surprise, just for the record, he was an invited guest) …

“I’m in here.” The door was open. I stopped in my tracks as I entered. The visual was one of the funniest things I’d ever seen. “What are you doing?” “Exactly what it looks like I’m doing.” “You’re. . .you’re taking a bubble bath?” Brody was sunk down into my tub, his head lolling back against the tile wall. The full length of his tall body didn’t quite fit – his legs were sticking out over the rim. Bubbles overflowed from the tub onto the floor. The entire room smelled like scented bath soap. “No tub at my place. I like to soak. Feels good on my muscles.” “And you usually soak in a bubble bath?” I could barely contain my laughter. “I don’t have any of this crap. The directions on the pink shit. . .” He pointed to a large plastic bottle that had been full when I left but was now half empty. “. . .said it was good for soothing muscles.” “You only need to use a capful.” “I was really sore.”….

This book, as I said, made me laugh out loud multiple times as I read it. I did, however, feel my eyes well up with tears at one point, there were times the story got much deeper. There were also times the author could have gone off on a tangent or take the book somewhere I didn’t want it to go – the opportunities were there but she didn’t take them. She stuck to the story; and it completely worked!

When I picked up this book to read it, I had just read two completely intense, darker stories and I wanted to read something that would entertain me and be lighter. This fit the bill, and yet, with it’s deeper parts, it satisfied my need for the book to have substance as well. I’m not a big fan of fluff and this was not fluff, it was simply just a very good book that captured my interest and didn’t let it go.

I’ve been a fan of Vi Keeland since I read her very first book, First Thing I See. After that one, I’ve read each of her books as they’ve been released and have enjoyed each of them. I am looking forward to reading more from her as each of her books are released; I have definitely become a fan!

 

Purchase The Baller Here:

| Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo |


 

About Vi Keeland

Vi

Join Vi’s mailing list and read the first chapter of her next book now! ➜ bit.ly/1ykgbwp
Stalk her Facebook here ➜ facebook.com/pages/Author-Vi-Keeland/435952616513958
Visit her website here ➜ vikeeland.com
Follow her on Twitter here ➜ @vikeeland twitter.com/ViKeeland
Follow her on Instagram ➜ @Vi_Keeland instagram.com/Vi_Keeland/

Vi Keeland is a native New Yorker with three children that occupy most of her free time, which she complains about often, but wouldn’t change for the world. She is a bookworm and has been known to read her kindle at stop lights, while styling her hair, cleaning, walking, during sporting events, and frequently while pretending to work. She is a boring attorney by day, and an exciting New York Times & USA Today Best Selling smut author by night!

Leave a Reply

