I am…

I am image

I am a girl.

I am the girl who you think you can treat a certain way because my hips are big and my butt is large. The proportions of my body do not give you the right to treat me like a slut because you think I crave attention I’m somehow lacking.

I am a girl.

I am the girl with piercings and tattoos but that does not make me less of a person or give anyone the right to treat me a certain way. Holes in my body or ink on my skin does not demonstrate the strength or weakness of my character.

I am a girl.

I am the girl with insecurities but they are my own. You do not have power or control over them.

I am a girl.

I am the girl who has experienced extreme loss in my life and fights every day to overcome and not let it control my life.

I am a girl.

I am the girl who grew up with trust issues because I was made to feel unwanted and unloved at home during my childhood. The shadows of my past made me who I am but they do not dictate my future.

I am a girl.

I am the girl who has battled depression and anxiety but I am strong.

I am a girl.

I am the girl who sometimes feels like I have no one to count on but I know part of that is my ability to push people away.

I am many things but no one has the right to label me. I am not validated by the charm of wolves in sheep’s clothing. I am validated by how I feel about myself inside and how I treat others. I am more than what can be seen on the outside, my past or the scars I wear inside.

I am a girl.

Leave a Reply

