Craving Talon by Zoey Derrick – Reviewed by Dottie

 Talon

Craving Talon

69 Bottles #2

By Zoey Derrick

Genres:

Romance: Erotica / LGBT

Teasers

talon teaser 1

****

young couple in love, studio shot

Synopsis

The story picks up as 69 Bottles continues their tour, riding a surge of success thanks to an impromptu duet between Talon and Addison.

It’s a crazy turn of life for Addison Beltrand, who’s always lived to work and worked to live. Now, everything is shifted upside down—and that’s not a bad thing. Stepping on the 69 Bottles tour bus has banished the heartache of her past, and feels like a rocking new beginning.

Talon Carver and Kyle Black couldn’t agree more. The band’s lead singer and manager are falling hard for the beautiful rock chick, and will do anything to keep her in their bed—and between their bodies—forever.

The trio’s blissful bubble is popped by a danger nobody has anticipated. The band’s security team, always watchful for fan attacks on the members, isn’t prepared for what happens to Addison during this leg of the tour. Will Kyle and Talon be able to help save Addison? Or will her fear force her to pack her bags and return to LA?

Everything hinges on her decision…

Two men. One woman. A rock band. A tour bus. One Wild Ride…

goodreads

Dottie’s Star Rating

(4.5 Stars)

 Rating starRating starRating starRating star1.2 star

Review

Review by DottieThis book, the second of a three-part series started at the exact spot book one ended; there was no gap – thank goodness! The first ended in a small cliffhanger and I was delighted to move right into book two and continue my journey with this triad without delay.

This book continues the story of Addison (Addie), Talon, and Kyle; a ménage triad at this point and thus far, has quickly become one of my favorites of this genre. This story has me completely hooked. The author doesn’t try to make a big deal of the fact that these three people are in an equal, three-way relationship. They are just simply “them” and it had evolved so easily, so organically in the first book, that it felt natural to continue reading about them together. This, as I said in my first review, would be an excellent series to read if you’ve never gotten your feet wet with any ménage books but have been curious about them. This author adds situations in this part of the trilogy that will make you think “WTF?” but it is not about how these three interact. That felt absolutely lovely!

If you’ve read the first book (and this is a series that must be read that way and if you haven’t – there will be some slight book one spoilers here due to the nature of a continuing story-line), you’ll probably recall that Addie ended up on stage singing a duet with Talon and it was very well received! And now, her boss wants her to consider making a career out of singing and asks Addison to think about it as she travels with 69 Bottles on their tour (and encourages her to continue singing the duet with Talon along the way); and her popularity is exploding! At each concert, the crowd starts chanting for her to come out and sing the song with Talon and when she appears on-stage, they go wild…

“You want Addison?” Talon asks the crowd and they go crazy. My heart swells as he looks over to me. Kyle is helping the sound guy tuck the cable under the strap at my back. “Why on earth would you want Addison?” he asks the crowd in a very playful manner and a good portion of them shout back, “Your Eyes.” “Fuck me,” I breathe in wonder. Kyle laughs, wrapping his arms around me from behind. I turn and the sound guy hooks me up by putting the clip in the belt I’m wearing. “So you think I should bring out my dearest angel so she can sing for you all?” The crowd cheers like crazy and the band kicks up the soft opening of the song, quiet, but still there. Kyle kisses me, hard and fast on the lips. “Go get ‘em, panda,” he says to me and I want to cry. I touch his cheek. “Thank you,” I mouth and I turn back to Talon. “I don’t know guys. What do you think?” he says toward the band and they kick up the sound to a fever pitch, the playback is in my ear. The crowd goes crazy. “I’ll take that as a yes.” He turns back to the crowd. “Ladies and gentlemen, it is my honor and privilege to welcome the one and only Addison Beltrand to the stage.”…I snuggle up to Talon and he wraps his arm around me, the one without the microphone. A bunch of people in the crowd start yelling for him to kiss me. I blush and he doesn’t hesitate in planting a soft, yet firm kiss against my lips. “Let’s do this,” he says softly, I nod and the band starts at the beginning…

But fame can be a double-edged sword. And while Addison wasn’t ever interested in a singing career, as she gains more popularity and is thrown into the spotlight more and more, it makes her life (and life of her guys) more and more complicated. She finds herself becoming overwhelmed with all of the craziness swirling around her between her new and unconventional relationship with both Talon and Kyle and the fame and trying to continue to do her PR job along with dealing with some over-zealous people. It all comes to a head and the security team calls in reinforcements. For a fiercely independent woman, this is a very difficult change and she really begins to question everything in her world. All she knows is how she feels about her two men…

Wrapped in their love and warmth. “I love you,” I breathe. I feel both bodies stiffen, and panic rocks through me as I realize that I’ve said those three little words. “It’s hardly enough to express how I feel about both of you, but I can’t find better words,” I say quietly…”I just feel so engulfed by both of you. You’re like air and blood, water and food. Everything I need in my life to survive. You’re my lovers and my friends, and I can’t do any of this without either one of you,” I say, my voice cracking with emotion and I feel Kyle’s lips on my neck, then I hear him inhale my scent, holding it within him before he slowly lets it out. “The love I feel for both of you is incomparable, but I don’t know how to show it.” “Shh,” Talon hushes me with his finger. “You show us every day.”…

I found myself enjoying this book more and more as I read it. There was a point where I thought my heart would stop for a moment and let’s just say, this shit got real! I found myself holding my breath. I found my eyes filling with tears a few times. The emotion that this book invoked was hearty but good. This book isn’t just about this threesome, it has a storyline that is being told throughout and it kept me engaged and interested and involved at any moment I found to pick it up and read more!

I will say, however, there is a lot, like A LOT of sex in this book. Now is that a good thing? – usually I say yes. But even I was thinking, okay…that’s sexy and all (and these scenes were definitely very sexy) but let’s move along now. So you can either read them and enjoy them or skim along as you read but trust me, I wouldn’t give 4.5 stars to a book that had no substance and was only made up of sex scenes. This book is 330 pages and because of the length, there was simply more room for more sex and the author utilized that space accordingly. However, with sex scenes, you also have self-discovery (especially, I imagine, with two partners instead of one) and you also have pillow talk that can be very telling and very insightful.

It was not always easy sailing in this edition for these three. There were challenges and some of those are where my heart felt like it was stopping at least once. But how cool is that?…a book that feels like you are that involved? This is why I gave this book (and book one as well) 4.5 stars. They draw you in. They make you care. They feel like this relationship feels as natural as breathing and feels like you can hardly wait to carve some more reading time into your day. And that, my friends, is the mark of a really good book!

This trilogy will end with Redeeming Kyle (book three in the series). However, since that was published, the author has gone on to write more in the series and has started adding to the series with the drummer’s story; book one is already available and it looks like book two of his story is being released in July of this year (2015). And in all honesty, I have become a Zoey Derrick fan and I’m sure I will probably read all she writes eventually (so many books, so little time…) But I am sincerely enjoying this series very much and am looking forward to diving right into book three of this first trilogy momentarily! I hope you join me!

Purchase Craving Talon here:

* 445d2-amazon2blink *

About Zoey Derrick

ZoeyBest Selling Erotic, Paranormal and Contemporary Romance author Zoey Derrick comes from Glendale, Arizona. Zoey, was a mortgage underwriter by day and is now a romance and erotica novelist full-time. She writes stories as hot as the desert sun itself. It is this passion that drips off of her work, bringing excitement to anyone who enjoys a good and sensual love story.
 

Not only does she aim to take her readers on an erotic dance that lasts the night, it allows her to empty her mind of stories we all wish were true.
 Her stories are hopeful yet true to life, skillfully avoiding melodrama and the unrealistic, bringing her gripping Erotica only closer to the heart of those that dare dipping into it. 
 

The intimacy of her fantasies that she shares with her readers is thrilling and encouraging, climactic yet full of suspense. She is a loving mistress, up for anything, of which any reader is doomed to return to again and again.

5 thoughts on “Craving Talon by Zoey Derrick – Reviewed by Dottie

  1. Kathryn Dee says:

    Oh….. you’re going to love Craving Talon….. Book 2 in the 69 Bottles Trilogy.
    Better yet, don’t stop at just reading Craving Talon, get onto Book 3 – Redeeming Kyle. You’ll fall madly in love with this titilating trio.
    And while you’re at it, why not indulge your rocker fantasies by getting into the story of the Hottest Drummer on the Planet – 69 Bottles Drummer Dex Harris and his lusty lovely Raine Montgomery in their story – Taming Dex! Its awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

